– Capital city: Quito

– Official languages: Spanish and Quechua

– Government: Unitary Presidential Constitutional Republic

– President: Guillermo Lasso.

– Currency: U.S. dollar

Location: Straddling the equator in western South America, Ecuador has land in both the northern and southern hemispheres.

It borders Colombia to the north and Peru to the south and east. The Pacific Ocean is Ecuador’s western border. The land area is 283,560 km², including the Galapagos Islands. The border with Colombia is 590 km and with Peru 1,420 km.

It has a coastline of 2,237km. The «Middle of the World – Center of the World» is where the equator crosses Ecuador at latitude 0 ° 0 ° 0.

Society: Ecuador’s dominant culture is defined by Ecuador’s «mestizo» majority, which is a mixture of European and Amerindian influences infused with African elements inherited from slave ancestors. Ecuador is a multi-ethnic and multicultural country with a population of about 15 million people. Although the official language of Ecuador is Spanish, 11 other indigenous languages are spoken. The main indigenous language of the highlands is Quechua.