Skip to content


  • Capital city: Quito
  • Official languages: Spanish and Quechua
  • Government: Unitary Presidential Constitutional Republic
  • President: Guillermo Lasso
  • Currency: United States dollar


Location: Ecuador is situated in South America, crossing the equator in the western part. It has territory in both the northern and southern hemispheres.

It borders Colombia to the north and Peru to the south and east. The Pacific Ocean forms its western boundary. The land area is 283,560 square kilometers, including the Galápagos Islands. The border with Colombia is 590 kilometers long, and with Peru, it is 1,420 kilometers.

It has a coastline of 2,237 kilometers. The “Middle of the World – Center of the World” is where the equator crosses Ecuador at 0° 0′ 0″ latitude.

Society: Ecuador’s dominant culture is defined by the majority “mestizo” population of Ecuador, which is a mix of European and Amerindian influences, infused with African elements inherited from enslaved ancestors. Ecuador is a multiethnic and multicultural country with a population of around 15 million people. Although the official language of Ecuador is Spanish, 11 other indigenous languages are spoken. The primary indigenous language of the highlands is Quechua.